Young Lives vs Cancer CLIC Sargent’s new brand.

So this blog post is about the amazing charity CLIC Sargent, why I love them and my involvement in the exciting NEW BRAND! Yep heard it here first (unless you saw it through the CLIC Sargent post- but hey give me some credit please)!

So since my diagnosis 6 and a half years ago a lot has changed my old life is no more and you know what its ok, but me being ok with that is thats in a large part thanks to the wonderful CLIC Sargent. A few months back I was sat in my consultants office explaining what I’d done over the 6 months since he last saw me. I explained that I’d got even more involved with the charity and in his words “ohhh your ‘giving back'”. At first it shocked me a bit because thats not the case at all (ok maybe it was to start with) but its way way more than that. Let me get this out of the way now- I now live a life full of complications that may get better one day but for now these wonderful complications hold me back from a normal 26 year olds life. I have chronic fatigue (which comes in many forms but generally i wake up as tired as you go to bed) a fun immunodeficiency thanks to chemo (my immune system doesn’t work properly) I have non-epileptic fits (triggered by fatigue and stress) and other things that effect me occasionally too. However this isn’t a sob story- ohhh feel sorry for me, because I have a tone going for me too and that wouldn’t have been possible without CLIC Sargent’s participation service.

The day I got my diagnosis I honestly believed I’d have been fixed by the end of the week, so to sit here writing this it makes me think about how far I’ve come. My CLIC Sargent social worker Jude was (and still is) a huge part of my life, without her I would never have returned to university, I wouldn’t have got the mental health support I needed, I wouldn’t have known where to start when it came to my finances and I wouldn’t be where I am or who I am today without her. I’ve now graduated uni (yes it may have taken 6 years but I did it) I took on a internship to see how I’d manage in the working world (answer- not quite ready yet). I’ve set up a life for myself and I’ve been a big part of some big decisions for CLIC Sargent thanks to Participation. So your probably wondering what participation is- basically its children and young people being able to inspire and influence the charities decision making. How awesome is that?!

I’ve done a lot with CLIC Sargent, from interviewing staff (all levels) to heading to parliament to tell those MPs what they need to look at. I’ve been involved with some tough decisions like the closure of MSH but also some massively important ones like young people’s assessments, the change in the participation service and most recently the NEW BRAND! But its more than just ‘giving back’ and why- well because over the years I’ve been able to develop skills that I’d never have done as a benefits bum (no offence intended I promise) I now tell people now that I’m a government sponsored volunteer (thanks to not being well enough to work full time). I know how to sit and be heard in a big board meeting, I know what makes a great answer to the question why this job, why now? I know how long and how hard applying for funding is. I know and understand how a charity works- so there for I understand how a business works. I am able to passionately tell an MP why they are wrong and what they need to do to fix something (and they listen). I am able to influence and see change happening and keep influencing work along the way. I am able to creatively come up with ideas, work through them and see the outcome of my idea. I’ve had more experience and opportunities than most of my school friends and my CV looks immense because of it. So never tell me its ‘giving back’ and they only want to hear your story- and you shouldn’t make your life about cancer (it isn’t) because CLIC Sargent care so much more than that and I’m not the only voice they listen to- they listen so they can improve the charity and its services for all in the future.

Here’s a picture of the YPRG from our last meeting where we were all getting behind our newly appointed young person trustee Jason Loo.

img_3435

Most recently I’ve had the pleasure of being involved with the REBRAND! A few years ago we pointed out CLIC Sargent- supporting children with cancer. Did not represent all of the people they represented I was diagnosed aged 20- I was not a child. So they added the supporting Young People bubble to their logo which wasn’t used for most things. The flower on the logo often wasn’t liked by many of the boys and some girls too, but without the money we were told a rebrand was out of the question. 1 year ago we got a wonderful new CEO Kate Lee, boy is that woman a machine! She has done SO SO SO much and she is super involved with the YPRG (Young people’s reference group- part of participation). 6 months ago she came to see us (as well as the children’s group) with a brand workshop- to get the feel of what we thought of CLIC Sargent and where we wanted it to be. I assumed this was the beginning of years and years worth of work never did I think that in just 6 months we would be launching a new brand! The YPRG meets every 6-8weeks and guaranteed at each of the meeting we’d have Kate or a member of the redesign team pop in to ask us our thoughts and give us an update.

Heres what the logo use to look like…

A few months ago we were given first looks at the brand proposal and we were able to give our feedback about the language, look and feel to the new brand. I love it!!!

Now like anything new your never going to get 100% of people on board right away- Change is hard, really hard! However, this new brand has been needed so much with the charity (like all charities) having a tough time financially, struggling to be heard in a sea of non profit organisations out there, CLIC Sargent was not being bold enough. CLIC Sargent was seen as a mumsy ohh we support charity- but its NOT- CLIC Sargent is a charity that is Strong, it fights for every single one of us/its service users, they are a charity that become our advocates- give us a voice, shout and demand change when its needed, they are there on your darkest day and they are there on your best. They are there to make sure when its needed palliative care is in our control. They are there to help us not just survive but THRIVE. CLIC Sargent’s new brand was not only influenced by us it is now bolder, puncher and most importantly more CLIC Sargent.

CLIC Sargent and its amazing CEO Kate Lee have managed to get the new brand to this point on just £5,000 by begging, being cleaver and asking a lot of favours- The reason for this because supporters money is better spent on the services it provides. I love the new brand and I’m so proud I’ve been able to be part of the group thats got it to where it is today. I hope you love it as much as I do (and if not with time I know you will!). Here’s one final picture of the YPRG.

Hands in #TeamYoungLives on 3….

img_9219

 Support young lives against cancer. Text YOUNG LIVES to 70500 to donate £3 to @CLIC_Sargent #YoungLivesvsCancer or check out the website at http://clicsargent.org.uk/

Leave a Reply

