CLIC Sargent Takeover Day

So my day (on Friday) began at 5AM, with a ridiculously early start (earlier than I even needed it to be) but I woke up like a kid waiting for Christmas. However this mid November morning and there are no presents to open just a early train to catch so I got ready for my day and spoke to my half asleep flatmate as I left my house at 6am. Where am I you ask? I’m spending the day at CLIC Sargent HQ in London. Why? Well to take it over obviously!

The idea for today came up quite a while ago in a Participation Group meeting (I’d like to say it was probably my idea but I can’t even remember) Kate Lee (our usual CEO) Had previously taken part in takeover days at a previous charity and was also keen to see it happen at CLIC Sargent. We looked at ways in which it could be achieved and when would be best today (Friday) seemed perfect as there is a national #takeoverdaychallenge with the children’s commissioner and so plans were swiftly underway and today became a reality. So how did we hear about it?? Well it was decided that it would be offered to members of the YPRG (CLIC Sargent’s young people’s reference group, made up from people they have supported to inspire and influence the work and direction of CLIC Sargent) as it’s a big step to take both for us and the charity so this seemed like a good group to test it. So a post was put up on the Facebook group and emailed out to us all too offering us the opportunity to take part. In this post we were asked to express an interest for a role which were also listed. These roles were then allocated based on our expression of interest and so here we are taking over.

On our journey to London our Facebook group was alive- with so many exciting comments from hey guys anyone seen my company car (CLIC Sargent is a charity no-one has company cars). To hey as CEO could someone go get me a coffee. It was fantastic especially to see emails from our social workers getting involved too asking for pay rises. Definitely the best way to start any day!

takeover

We began by having a briefing about what to expect from the day and got placed into our roles (at the end of the day we will do a sort of hand over back). We then had a tour of the offices as some of the group hadn’t been before and so we could get to grips with the teams and which director was responsible for them.

My role for the day has been as the Communications Assistant I have been able to learn about the role, which includes pulling together the daily news stories and sending them out across the whole of the charity. Dealing with requests for real life stories and quotes for news stories. Helping the teams to share their messages digitally and so much more! I don’t think I’d put much thought into what a difference one role makes to a charity I think I’ve always viewed it very much as a whole (despite interning with the charity last year where I developed a good understanding of how the charity works). My tasks for the day have been to conduct interviews with the CEO Fay Turner-Paxton and advisor to the CEO Kate Lee as well as the Director of Services Pete Jerrett and the advisor of Services Dara De Burca. Write a blog post about the day and a bit for the website, and to try to make contact with some local press to send out some content about today. Hopefully I’ll find the time to fit it all in but this is just such a small nugget on what happens within the charity on a day to day basis. The time really does fly!

Once I got to grips with the role it was time to spring into action and come up with some snappy questions to ask the CEO and Director of Services. I decided to be a nice journalist not asking too many difficult questions but it went really well. I learnt a lot about what it means to be a part of the day for them all and how already having young people involved has made a difference. I asked Fay and Kate how they have found today- Fay commented that she was quite nervous about how today would go but “it’s been a bit nuts and Kate has been amazing”. Kate Lee commented about how amazingly Fay has handled all of the people coming and saying ‘can I just have 5 minuets- and I’ve spent most of the day tweeting and being on my Facebook!”. Fay says she has learnt about how busy the charity is, a lot about how the charity works and has had some really good tips about chairing meeting and how to manage people.

dara-pete-and-me

Pete chose to become Director of services because he understood what the role was and has had a lot of help and support from the services team over the past 3 1/2 years of treatment. Dara said that “Pete has already been able to point out areas within the policy reports that hasn’t been seen previously and how they could have been presented better and he has asked some really good questions which is so exiting. Pete commented that “My hope for the future is that today goes so amazingly well that everyone thinks yes- lets do a takeover week lets involve the children too and that will agree that we want more participation opportunities like this.”

I had the unique pleasure of sitting in on the executive team meeting for the first item agenda purely as an on looker and to be able to write about it- and I have to say how immensely proud I am of all of my friends. It was incredible to see them place themselves into their director roles and so eloquently  getting their points across. However, looking round the table I saw the exact same look of pride on every single member of advisory staff in the room. Rachel raising the first item’s agenda so clearly everyone got on board straight away and the moment Brad (communications manager) spoke about an introduction of a new social media platform I saw smiles across the faces of so many. I’m bursting with pride of my friend Fay who herself would admit to usually being the quite one managing the meeting, keeping it to time whiles showing she was listening to everyone’s comments by summarising before moving onto the next item. It was like she had been doing it for years! Libby (Director of income and engagement) asking questions on how it would relate to fundraising. Aimee (Director of HR) answering Pete’s question about training for staff and raising issues of bridging the generational gaps. Honestly you wouldn’t have believed they had just had one hour of prep before this meeting because it was as if it was their normal jobs.

I’ve really loved being part of this incredible day and I can not wait to be part of the developing group for the next one to be a success for other children and young people to #takeover. Just would like to say a special thanks to all of the staff and young people that took part today

CEO- Fay Turner-Paxton (Kate Lee)

Director of services- Pete Jerrret (Dara De Burca)

Director of Finance and coparate resources- Connor Grant [WFH] (Kevin O’Brien)

Director Income and Engagement- Libby Welch (Rachel Kirby-Rider)

Director of People and Learning- Aimee Jordan (Jane Cooling)

Assistant Director of Planning strategy and performance- Rachel Blackford (Jenny Turner)

Impact and Performance Analyst- Tish Annand-Beanse (Michelle)

Project manager and EA to CEO and Chair- Seren Hughes (Diane Swanton)

Communication Manager- Bradley Gudger (Sally Archer)

Communications Assitant- Me- Ceinwen Stone (Rebecca Bourley)

And to our amazing participation team Rebecca Horder and Tracey Cosgrave.

Leave a Reply

