One year at Freedom

So today marks the one year anniversary walking through the doors of Freedom Church in Cardiff. A few months back I wrote a post called the faith that rocked which explains how I got there and what I found when I was there. However, I can not write something to mark this special day for me. Freedom Church has changed my life around completely and I am so so so thankful for that, and all I have learnt in this past year.

Pre Freedom I had just finished an internship which I loved but also it showed me how far away from the working world I am. I was exhausted from trying to do something with my days (only managing 1-2 days of activity) and felt really low because now I realised working even part-time was further off that I had hoped I had nothing to fill my days with. So I walked into church pretty broken, lost and feeling quite isolated from the ‘real world’.

I selfishly went to freedom looking for more people (and you know what that’s ok at my church). I wanted to have people around me incase my flat mates moved and I was left knowing no one in the city. Today I look at my Facebook friends and I’ve gained over 100 from Freedom Church. These aren’t people I just know of, or spoken to once they are people who I’ve had proper meaningful conversations with and could tell you more than just ‘oh they go to my church’. What I have found at freedom is way more than a community of friends it’s a GIGANTIC FAMILY all of whom are there for me, fighting for me and cheering me on. Some of these friends are now in Mombasa, Birmingham, and Rotterdam all places my church has planted a new church in the time I’ve been a part of the family. Some have moved away for new jobs and a new future (even one amazing family starting a new life in Australia.) Today we had 168 people in church and that really challenged me because it means there are at least 68 people I haven’t had a proper conversations with yet. It’s exciting because there are more people to meet, hear from and get to do life with!

This week was a challenging one for me because I’ve had the brown letter of doom anyone who has ever been on benefits at any point in their lives will know the gut wrenching feeling that is having to go through the whole process again. I’d like to consider  myself as a fairly positive person but this process just ends up making you feel depressed, like you’re a scrounge and you have to admit how you truly are on a day-to-day basis its gutting (as most of these things I hide from myself or try to put a positive spin on). However, I was challenged by someone to be a bit more open and honest, so I reached out to a few people within my church. One met me for coffee so I no longer had to sit on my living room floor in tears (Thankyou Zoe). Another called me to check I was ok and then took me out the next day to take my mind off it (Thanks Amanda). I had a wonderful new friend who also knows that brown letter feeling make me feel instantly better just because she knew the feeling. (Thanks Katie). The She:FOCUS group I’ve recently become apart of have all stood alongside me, with a special shout out to Jess who has said she will help me with the form. Yes I’ve had some none church friends also be there for me (Kate, Hattie and Rach your all awesome to.) However, the day this letter came through I have been so so thankful to have God by my side and placing amazing people around me.

I could easily tell you all about these amazing people in my life and what they mean to me. I had Hattie come and stay a few months back and I literally spent 2 days telling her about different people in my church and how INCREDIBLE they truly are but the blog post would just go on forever. I guess the purpose of this post is to say a huge THANKYOU to my wonderful freedom family. I’m so grateful for each and every one of you, for the endless hours of chatting we do. The catch ups in coffee shops, in cafe or in any one of our small groups. Thanks to you I have great role models, I have people who inspire me, and people who challenge me. I’m far from finished, I’m far from perfect but boy have I changed. I’m nowhere near as broken and isolated as I was. I’ve found faith, I’ve found community and I’ve found the most incredible family I could ever ask for.

God is good, all the time, God is good.

ps….Hey if your reading this and aren’t apart of my church family (this doesn’t mean I don’t love you any less). If your someone who is lost, broken or just searching for answers Drop me a message I’d love to help. If your someone who wants to know more about these amazing people ask me about them. If you want to know more about who this God is I’m talking about then ask me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

